Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!

Related Sponsor

SmartFAQ is developed by The SmartFactory (http://www.smartfactory.ca), a division of InBox Solutions (http://www.inboxsolutions.net)

I use Norton Internet Security or Norton Personal Firewall 2003
Requested and Answered by Jseymour on 21-Jan-2005 19:10 (3862 reads)
If you are using Norton Internet Security or Norton Personal Firewall 2003 please follow the following steps to create a rule:

Xoops checks by referers, and if you use other firewall software, you need check the manual for this.

How to pass referer information to specific Web pages in Norton Internet Security or Norton Personal Firewall 2003

When you click a Web page, your browser notes the current page that you are on and sends that information to the server of the new Web page. This way, the server for the new Web page knows the last Web page that you viewed. For example, if you are on www.symantec.com and click www.microsoft.com, the browser sends www.microsoft.com the information that you are currently viewing www.symantec.com. If you block referer information, the server of the page you are requesting to see does not know what page you saw last. By default, Norton Internet Security (NIS) and Norton Personal Firewall (NPF) blocks this information. However, some Web pages require this information before allowing you to view the page. If you need to allow referer information to pass to a particular Web page, you must create a rule for it.

To create a rule:

1. Open NIS or NPF.
2. Click Options.
3. Click Internet Security or Personal Firewall. This step is not always needed.
4. Click the Web Content tab.
5. Click Add Site. A new site/domain box appears. Enter the name of the site that you want to receive the referer information and click OK. In this example, it will be www.symantec.com.
6. The site name appears in the left frame of the Options window.
7. Click the name of the new site.
8. Click the Global Settings tab.
9. In the \"Information about visited sites\" section, uncheck \"Use default settings\".
10. Click Permit.

Click to see original Image in a new window

11. Click OK to close the options window

The comments are owned by the author. We aren't responsible for their content.
Author Thread

Related Sponsor

Bookmark and Share